The Constant Flame  Alex Cline Ensemble

The Constant Flame is the sequel to drummer/percussionist Alex Cline's highly acclaimed 1999 Crypto release Sparks Fly Upward (CG102), and continues in the tradition of his recordings on ECM and Nine Winds Records. Produced by famed jazz drummer Peter Erskine, The Constant Flame features the members of the ensemble (click on the CD), plus soloists Nels Cline, Kaoru, Vinny Golia and a cast of thousands in tributes to John Carter, Don Cherry, David Sylvian, Toru Takemitsu and others.


Aina Kemanis
Wayne Peet
Michael Elizondo


2Evening Bell12:32
3The Constant Flame11:57
4A Wreath of Rain12:04
6Summoning Spirits2:40
7Six Poems by Akiko Yosano9:00


The latest Alex Cline Ensemble endeavor is the first since 1999's Sparks Fly Upward, and is a poetic masterpiece. Back is the haunted, hunted stoned angel voice of Aina Kemanis, with violins provided by Jeff Gauthier, Michael Elizondo's bass, G.E. Stinson

Thom Jurek, All Music Guide, August 2001

A long-standing fixture on the Los Angeles music scene, Alex Cline has always been more than just a drummer. Playing a drum kit that is augmented by numerous cymbals, bells and gongs, he is an orchestrator of sounds. His latest release, THE CONSTANT FLAME

Michael Bettine,, August 2001